Nov 28, 2020  
Catalogue 2020-2021 
    
Catalogue 2020-2021

Academic Calendar


 


Fall Semester, 2020/21

August 2020
August 10 (Monday) Last day for payment of fall semester fees
August 31 (Monday) Fall classes begin
August 31 (Monday) Add Period begins
September 2020
September 2 (Wednesday) Fall Convocation at 3:30 pm (virtual)
September 7 (Monday)

Labor Day: No Classes

September 8 (Tuesday) Add Period ends
September 8 (Tuesday) Last day to add 1st six-week classes
September 21 (Monday)

Last day to drop 1st six-week classes

October 2020
October 2 - 4 (Friday - Sunday) All Families Weekend (Virtual)
October 7 (Wednesday) Community Care Day: No Classes
October 16 (Friday)

Drop Period ends

October 16 (Friday) Last day of 1st six-week classes
October 16 (Friday) Last day to NRO 1st six-week classes
October 16 (Friday) Last day for student initiated WD 1st six-week classes
October 19 (Monday) 2nd six-week classes begin
October 26 (Monday) Last day to add 2nd six-week classes
November 2020
November 3 (Tuesday) Community Care Day: No Classes (Election Day)
November 9 (Monday) Last day to drop 2nd six-week classes
November 20 (Friday) Last day of in-person classes (for students on campus for in-person classes)
November 20 (Friday) Thanksgiving recess begins at 10:00 pm
November 29 (Sunday) Thanksgiving recess ends at midnight
November 30 (Monday) Classes resume online only for all students
November 30 - December 11 (Monday - Friday)

 Preregistration for Spring 2021

December 2020
December 9 (Wednesday) Last day of fall semester classes
December 9 (Wednesday) Last day to withdraw from all fall semester classes
December 10-13 (Thursday-Sunday) Study Period
December 14-18 (Monday-Friday) Fall semester examinations
December 18 (Friday)  Last day to NRO full semester or 2nd six-week classes
December 18 (Friday)

Last day for student initiated WD of full semester or 2nd six-week classes

 

Spring Semester, 2020/21

January 2021
January 10 (Sunday) Last day for payment of spring semester fees
February 2021
February 17 (Wednesday) Spring semester classes begin 
February 17 (Wednesday) Add Period begins
February 24 (Wednesday) Add period ends
February 24 (Wednesday) Last day to add 1st six-week classes 
March 2021
March 9 (Tuesday) Last day to drop 1st six-week classes
March 30 (Tuesday)

Last day to NRO 1st six-week classes 

Last day for student initiated WD 1st six-week classes

March 31 (Wednesday) Mid-Semester Recess begins (no classes)
April 2021
April 4 (Sunday) Mid-Semester Recess ends at midnight
April 9 (Friday)

Drop Period ends

April 12 (Monday) 2nd six-week classes begin
April 19 (Monday) Last day to add 2nd six-week classes
April 19- 30 (Monday-Friday) Preregistration for Fall 2021
April 30 (Friday) Last day to drop 2nd six-week classes
May 2021
May 3 (Monday) No classes
May 24 (Monday) Last day of spring semester classes
May 24 (Monday) Last day to withdraw from all spring semester classes
May 24 (Monday) Last day to NRO full semester or 2nd six-week classes
May 25-27 (Tuesday- Thursday) Study Period
May 28- June 1 (Friday- Tuesday) Spring semester examinations
June 2021
June 1 (Tuesday) Last day for student initiated WD of full semester or 2nd six-week classes
June 2 (Wednesday) Residence houses close at 9:00 am (except seniors)
June 6 (Sunday) 157th Commencement
June 7 (Monday) Residence houses close at 9:00 am for seniors
June 11- 13 (Friday-Sunday) Vassar College Reunions

Three-Year Calendar

2020/21 - 2022/23

Fall Semester

  2020/21 2021/22 2022/23
Classes Begin 8/31 (Mon) 8/30 (Mon) 8/29 (Mon)
October Break None    
Begin   10/15 (Fri) 10/14 (Fri)
End   10/24 (Sun) 10/23 (Sun)
Thanksgiving       
Begin 11/20 (Fri) 11/24 (Wed) 11/23 (Wed)
End 11/29 (Sun) 11/28 (Sun) 11/27 (Sun)
Classes End 12/9 (Wed) 12/8 (Wed) 12/7 (Wed)
Study Period       
Begin 12/10 (Thu) 12/9 (Thu) 12/8 (Thu)
End 12/13 (Sun) 12/12 (Sun) 12/11 (Sun)
Final Exams      
Begin 12/14 (Mon) 12/13 (Mon) 12/12 (Mon)
End 12/18 (Fri) 12/17 (Fri) 12/16 (Fri)

Note: No Classes on Labor Day

Spring Semester

  2020/21 2021/22 2022/23
Classes Begin  2/17 (Wed) 1/19 (Wed) 1/18 (Wed)
Spring Break      
Begin    3/4 (Fri) 3/3 (Fri)
End   3/20 (Sun) 3/19 (Sun)
Mid-Semester Recess (no classes) 3/31 (Wed) - 4/4 (Sun)    
No Classes 5/3 (Mon)    
Classes End 5/24 (Mon) 5/3 (Tue) 5/2 (Tue)
Study Period      
Begin 5/25 (Tue) 5/4 (Wed) 5/3 (Wed)
End 5/27 (Thr) 5/10 (Tue) 5/9 (Tue)
Final Exams      
Begin 5/28 (Fri) 5/11 (Wed) 5/10 (Wed)
End 6/1 (Tue) 5/17 (Tue) 5/16 (Tue)
Commencement 6/6 (Sun) 5/22 (Sun) 5/21 (Sun)